Dad’s Big Fall “Dad’s Recovery Process”


I sat downstairs eating oatmeal and watching Netflix when I heard a sound that shook the earth above me. So I ran upstairs just as Cousin Carter entered the room and found Dad laying face down on the floor.


“Dad, are you okay?”


He said nothing but hasn’t spoken in days. He seemed almost disappointed to see us. Refocusing my thoughts I lifted dad’s head up off the floor and got him in an upright position. Trying again I asked:


“Do you want to stay in this position for a little bit or try to get up?”


Seeing that he didn’t respond I communicated with Carter so we could get dad to a kneeling position and back into the chair. In reality Cousin Carter did all the work I barely felt dad’s weight but I managed to lift him enough to help him.


“Thanks Carter”

“No problem”

“I’ll stay with dad”


He stared reluctant to leave but finally left. It was then I remembered my oatmeal downstairs on the coffee table and my brothers who were in the kitchen that never came.


“Dad, I’ll be right back, I’m gonna get help to get you in the bed”


He looked sad to see me go but he was safe. Eyeing the area one last time I assured myself that having the chair against the desk would prevent a fall then I ran downstairs to yell at my mom and my brothers.


Click here for Part 2


Sneak Preview

Lashing Out


“Did you hear that loud sound?”

“No, what was it?”

“Dad just fell”


I stopped them . . .


Click here for a list of all stories and content.


Click here to see what this site’s about.


Click here to read about me.


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


All stories are copyrighted and registered under US Copyright. If you’d like to use this content please send a request to adrianna.diary@gmail.com. ©